"The drive where windows is installed is locked. Unlock the drive, and then try again. »

Have a laptop Envy M6-K010DX. Due to a problem of the internet while improving to win 8 to 8.1, the PC does not start correctly, and Windows Explorer will not load. Has decided to "Refresh" of the operating system and is gone to F11 restore utilities. When I go to the utility of refreshment and follow the prompts that I reach a message that says, 'the drive where windows is installed is locked. Unlock the drive, and then try again. "I was looking for support for the unlocking instructions and apart from some commands bootrec (which did not work - probably because I don't have a Win 8 disc) not much is available.

The only access I have for execution of orders made by the tasks Manager command-line and F11. What is this 'locked' drive, anyway? Someone at - it any information on that?

Hello Lara.

IF you have updated from 8 to 8.1 and the process was interrupted during installation, this may damage the disc and therefore locked error. "Refreshing" the system would not be the answer that you need to clean install Windows 8 again. 8.1 update can break the bond of the recovery partition, especially if it has become corrupted as indicated.

You must clean up the installation with the recovery discs, you must have created before you updated to 8.1.

In addition, if you do not have the recovery disks, you can buy a set of HP or install a regular copy of Windows 8 and then update the drivers manually. HP has the Windows key now integrated into the bios.

This forum is used on a voluntary basis and is not maintained by the HP Support for substitution of contact.

Your message looks like not it was even 24 hours old before you decided to delete it from the original computer?

I'm sorry to hear you had to do this.

If you need to HP support, you must contact them directly to your country or region.

Contact HP-Assist phone USA | HP® official site

Contact HP worldwide | HP® official site

Good luck with the new computer.

Any brand or model you purchased now, don't forget to create the recovery disks/drive.

Tags: Notebooks

Similar Questions

  • Error: "the drive where windows is installed is locked, unlock the drive and try again" while trying to regenerate the system

    My daughters Toshiba S955-S5373 went all green, she says while she helped the battery out. I didn't know she was in trouble. We tried to solve; However, Bad_system_config_info appears before diagnosing and resolving problems. After 4 hours, nothing has been resolved.

    I found the DVD we created initially and attempted to load that. We shut down the laptop with the power and reverse holding F12 button. I tried to boot from the DVD, but it does not read the DVD and just crossed the initially to start and diagnose and solve problems. I have waited 2 hours, but without success.

    I turned off again and I just tried to refresh the PC. He said "the drive where windows is installed is locked, unlock the drive and try again".

    I then tried auto repair but could repair. Log file C:\Windows\System32\Logfiles\Srt\SrtTrao;/txt appeared.

    I even tried to reset the PC as a last resort. But the message failed to reset the PC required A disk partition is missing.

    Don't know what I can do. Can you help us?

    Original title: Toshiba S955-S5373 will not start

    Hi Annaed,

    Thanks for posting your query in Microsoft Community.

    I can understand your concerns to your system and will certainly guide you in the right direction to solve the problem.

    Control bug BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO occurs if the SYSTEM registry hive is damaged. However, this corruption is generally unlikely, because the bootloader, known as NT Loader (NTLDR) in versions of Windows prior to Vista, checks a hive for corruption when loading the hive.

    This bug check can also occur if some values and critical registry keys are missing. You keys and values may be absent, if a user manually change the registry.

    As per the error message "the drive where windows is installed is locked, unlock the drive and try again", I would refer to the suggestions posted by phanlon7 replied on 12 October 2013 in the next thread and check if they are useful.

    Windows crash hard drive - discount - locked, unlock the hard drive

    Hope this information is useful. Let us know if you need more help, we will be happy to help you.

  • Will not install driver installer of EPSON Scan (L210) - ' error occurred when installing re start the computer, and then try again.

    Original title: problem installing scanner

    EPSON Scan (L210) setup driver moved - "is an error occurred when installing re start the computer, and then try again.

    Hey there, MAHIPALSINGH143

    Welcome to the Microsoft community forums.

    So that the community help to install your printer, we will need more information. Please answer these questions:

    1. Windows what operating system are you running (Windows 10, 8.1, 7)?
    2. The troubleshooting steps have so you far?
    3. Did you upgrade to a new operating system?
      1. If Yes, what operating system you were on before?

    When you look at the error message, it doesn't look like you need to update your drivers. You will need to go on the official website of manufacturers, with your EPSON.

    Here is the site for the EPSON drivers: http://www.epson.co.uk/gb/en/viewcon/corporatesite/support

    When I entered your model of "Epson Scan (L210)" number, it does not recognize the product. Would you be able to check and make sure that you have provided the correct model number? Your model is a new printer?

    Kind regards

  • Driver EPSON Scan Setup installs - "error produced during installation to re start the computer, and then try again.

    New Epson Scanner GT - S50 Epson scan, set up driver will not install. keeps giving me "is an error occurred when installing re start the computer, and then try again" works fine on another pc with windows 7, but not from Dell. Tried to download from the website and cd. all other software is loading fine. Epson technical support cannot fix. Help!

    I finally had my Epson GT - S50 working. I have a contract with support iYogi.They tech were recommended by Dell.  It took them more than 12 hours to solve this problem. They had to do a full factory reset. I have had all my drives. The alleged problem with mine was HP. I have a hp all-in-one. It damaged my windows files. On re install, I had to install Epson scan first, this hp. I would not buy an epson again. The product works well now but still double flow a lot and is very picky. When it works well, it really accelerates my work verse scan with the Hp all-in-one. I'm really happy that I have a scanner, but wouldn't recommend an Epson.  I highly recommend I have Yogi tech support. They are worth every penny.

  • Halo: Combat Evolved for PC works only on Windows Vista - Error Message "" unload the debugger, and then try again."

    I'm having a problem running Halo: Combat Evolved on Windows Vista. I can insert the disc and install the game without problem. The problem is that when I try to launch the game, I get error message saying "" unload the debugger, and then try again." I tried to install some of Halo patches to see if that would fix the error (for example, 1.6 and 1.7), but when I try and open the patch .exe file I get an error message telling me to go to a microsoft Web site or try to update the game manually. In addition, I tried to contact Gearbox Software to see if they could help me, all they said was to contact Microsoft.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to why the game does not work for me and how can I make it work?

    Let me know, thanks. :)

    Hello whyohwhy42,

    I suggest that you follow the section below. This includes various possible steps to solve this problem:

    http://support.Microsoft.com/kb/812759

    Thank you
    Irfan H, Engineer Support Microsoft Answers. Visit our Microsoft answers feedback Forum and let us know what you think.

  • Problem ejecting USB Mass Storage Device "this device is currently in use. Close any programs or windows that might be using the device, and then try again. »

    Original title: problem ejecting USB Mass Storage Device

    When I try to eject safely my external hard drive safely I get an error with this title message telling me that "this device is currently in use. Close any programs or windows that might be using the device, and then try again. "I did it. I also tried to close all programs running on the computer and it does not help. I also tried to restart the computer, and it also does nothing. If anyone has any ideas that might be useful please let me know.

    Hi a. Cook,

    (1) how long have you been faced with this problem?

    (2) is limited to any specific USB device?

    This problem may occur if there are handles open with all the files in the USB (Universal Serial Bus) mass storage device are in use by another program.

    Method 1:

    (a) Download Process Explorer from the link below

    http://TechNet.Microsoft.com/en-us/Sysinternals/bb896653

    (b) click on search, find handle or DLL (Dynamic Link Library) in the tool menu.

    (c) type the drive letter of the USB device in the handle or DLL substring text box and press the search button.

    (d) find the process and its PID (process identifier) in the following box.

    (e) with a view to the processes of the system tree, look for the process according to the dialog box find handle or DLL.

    (f) press Ctrl + H to display the handles in the view in the lower pane.

    (g) find the file according to the drive letter and right click, choose Manage close.

    Reference:


    Problem ejecting USB mass storage device
    http://support.Microsoft.com/kb/555665

    Note: Using third-party software, including hardware drivers can cause serious problems that may prevent your computer from starting properly. Microsoft cannot guarantee that problems resulting from the use of third-party software can be solved. Software using third party is at your own risk.

    Method 2: You can see the steps in the link below by Diana d.
    http://answers.Microsoft.com/en-us/Windows/Forum/windows_vista-hardware/problem-ejecting-USB-mass-storage-deviceits-in-use/fd56805c-ED8E-491F-8a2b-39ed1c988a71

    Method 3: A scanner online for any threat and try to correct

    http://OneCare.live.com/site/en-us/Center/cleanup.htm

  • When I try to send a picture through Windows Live Mail I get an error message telling me to delete the picture, and then try again.

    When I try to send a picture through Windows Live Mail I get an error message telling me to delete the picture, and then try again.

    original title: RECEIVES the MESSAGE of ERROR WHILE SENDING AND RECEIVING PHOTOS

    Hello Jane,.

    The best place to ask your question of Windows Live is inside Windows Live help forums. Experts specialize in all things, Windows Live, and would be delighted to help you with your questions. Please choose a product below to be redirected to the appropriate community:

     

    Windows Live Mail

    Windows Live Hotmail

    Windows Live Messenger

     

    Looking for a different product to Windows Live? Visit the home page Windows Live Help for the complete list of Windows Live forums to www.windowslivehelp.com.

  • Windows update error: your PC is not connected to the internet. connect to the internet, and then try again

    Original title:

    Windows Update

    Hello

    When I open the store windows I get an error saying

    your PC is not connected to the internet. connect to the internet, and then try again

    is there an internet setting before the update of win8 or one of the applications

    Thank you

    How to solve the problems of connection with Windows Update
    http://Windows.Microsoft.com/en-us/Windows-8/how-solve-connection-problems-Windows-Update

    How to troubleshoot problems connecting to Windows Update or Microsoft Update
    http://Support2.Microsoft.com/kb/818018/en-AU

  • Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author.

    Hello I am trying to download my site www.novopro.co.uk screw "Publish to FTP" I have updated a page and downloaded from the website and now I get this warning on everypage. Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author. If I click ok the site will load, but I get this error on everypage. I removed all widgets party 3 E, g, engines search, galleries etc.

    I looked through the forum, but not seen no real solution to the issue, I looked at the 'Muse.assets' in the JSConsole and the only script to update is touchswipe.js I do not understand why its doing so, my host said there is no problems with the servers smd ive only uploaded the site (all files) several times.

    My client is now a little inpatient as im yet to find a solution and I'd like to solve this problem as soon as possible. Please can someone help me shed light on the issue and im using the latest version of adobe Muse. Adobe Muse CC 2015.2.1

    Thanks in advance.

    In addition to what was suggested above, you can see if there are other solutions in this doc "some files on the server may be missing or incorrect" Warning Message that can help you and let us know?

  • When I try to use the updated creative cloud up the file runs and then informs me that "Please connect to the internet, and then try again." But I'm obviously connected.

    When I try to use the updated creative cloud up the file runs and then informs me that "Please connect to the internet, and then try again." But I'm obviously connected.

    PlsConnect.JPG

    Hi Colin,

    Please try to reinstall the creative cloud after disabling antivirus and firewall.

    Reference: error download or update Adobe Creative Cloud applications

    Concerning

    Megha Rawat

  • I've set up a website in Muse. Any excerpt from fine to preview in a browser. When I download the file to make it live I am getting this error some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the

    I've set up a website in Muse. Any excerpt from fine to preview in a browser. When I download the file to make it live I am getting this error some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author. Art seems to be fine and the host site says it's probably coding error. What should I do?

    Hello

    Have you tried a few steps in the following article

    "Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect" Warning Message

    See if that helps. Let me know if you have any question.

  • I get this error message 'some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists please contact author Web site. »

    Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author.  But all the content loads correctly, and it just seems to be an annoying error message.  Does anyone know how I can get rid of this or that which is the cause.  Site is: http://davidkimlaw.com

    You solve the symptom and not the problem. If something is to change the files after they are exported from Muse, the consequences could be vast and varied download to download.

    Don't the accordion on the 'AREAS' jobs page widget if this file exported (and unaltered) opens in the browser on your local computer? It doesn't seem to work on the online site, which could be linked to the questions of the error was about or may be an offshoot of some hand changes were made after export.

    If you empty the re-export of Muse in a folder and then download the same files, I'll take a second look at what's going on. If you wish, you can you could do that in a subfolder so as not to disturb the live site. (When I detected that the index.css file is out of sync I was on my phone and could not go any further.)

    There is also more information about the possible causes of this error here "some files on the server may be missing or incorrect" Warning Message>.

  • I always get this message: some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author.

    It seems to happen whenever a update of Muse coming...

    I'll transfer my site and when I visit it I get this message even that was supposed to be resolved there are a few versions:

    "Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists please contact author Web site. »

    I use the latest version of Muse: 2014.3 release

    I looked at my list of assets within the Muse - nothing is marked not linked.

    I tried to upload my site many times... within the Muse and with FileZilla.

    Fortunately, I have saved the latest version of my site - which was created in the version prior to 2014.3 - and downloaded again.  It works and can be seen here: www.snapscene.ca.

    But as soon as I make all the changes file of Muse, save it under a different name (to be compatible with 2014.3) and upload it - I get the message when visiting the site.

    What gives?

    -Adrian

    It seemed to me the solution.

    When I export the files, I simply left Muse overwrite the files in the destination folder. The files may not overeritten correctly.

    Manually, I went into this folder destination and destroyed all the old files exported.

    I then re-exported the files and then uploaded. All workes from there.

  • Some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists please contact the author of the Web site

    Help! I've just updated my Web site for the first time since the upgrade to the new version of Muse. All files are transferred successfully using Filezilla on my server but I get this error message on all browsers: some files on the server may be missing or incorrect. Clear the cache of the browser, and then try again. If the problem persists, please contact Web site author.

    Web site: 2020artgallery.com

    Hello

    Check this thread some files on the server may be missing or incorrect

  • Deleting a folder gives this message: check the location of the elements, and then try again

    I would like to help to get rid of a file. The folder used to hold pictures, but is now empty. I tried the normal removal methods. I also tried to remove prompt all to nothing does not. I tried to use Fileassassin, but it will not work with a folder and also Fileboss time to rename it to 8.3 and remove it but neither work. He will agree to be cut and pasted from images of office etc but will not delete in these two places. Similarly, it can be placed in another folder but still will not remove. Move a file inside does not either.

    Suggestions welcomed!

    Check if you have full permissions in the folder and also owner if necessary. Move the folder to your desktop.  Right-click on the folder, and then click Properties, click the Security tab.  Add your username in their own right.  Click Advanced and add your username in its own right to the section of special permissions.  And then click the property tab and make you the owner.  In all three cases, remember to check the box to apply it to all files and subdirectories.  That should give you the permission to delete the file.  If this is not the case, check all the tabs property, including safety to check that nothing is checked to refuse the removal.  The following should help you with this:

    To view your permissions, right-click on the file/folder, click Properties, and check the Security tab.  Check the permissions you have by clicking on your user name (or group of users).  Here are the types of permissions, you may have:http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/What-are-permissions.  You must be an administrator or owner to change the permissions (and sometimes, being an administrator or even an owner is not sufficient - there are ways to block access (even if a smart administrator knows these ways and can move them - but usually should not because they did not have access, usually for a very good reason).)  Here's how to change the permissions of folder under Vista:http://www.online-tech-tips.com/windows-vista/set-file-folder-permissions-vista/. To add take and the issuance of right of permissions and ownership in the right click menu (which will make it faster to get once it is configured), see the following article:http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/05/21/take-and-grant-full-control-permissions-and-ownership-in-windows-7-or-vista-right-click-menu/.

    To solve this problem with folders, folders takeownership or the reader (as an administrator) and give you all the rights.  Right-click on the folder/drive, click Properties, click the Security tab and click on advanced and then click the owner tab.  Click on edit, and then click the name of the person you want to give to the property (you may need to add if it is not there--or maybe yourself). If you want that it applies to subfolders and files in this folder/drive, then check the box to replace the owner of subcontainers and objects, and click OK.  Back and now there is a new owner for files and folders/player who can change the required permissions.  Here is more information on the ownership of a file or a folder:http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/67717-take-ownership-file.html. To add take ownership in the menu of the right click (which will make it faster to get once it is configured), see the following article:http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/add-take-ownership-to-explorer-right-click-menu-in-vista/.

    If this does not work, tryUnlocker to: http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Miscellaneous/Unlocker.shtml that removes folders and files and can work where other programs have not.

    I hope this helps.

    Good luck!

    Lorien - MCSA/MCSE/network + / has + - if this post solves your problem, please click the 'Mark as answer' or 'Useful' button at the top of this message. Marking a post as answer, or relatively useful, you help others find the answer more quickly.

Maybe you are looking for

  • Libretto W100: touchscreen only is active

    Hy... Please help me, I have a toshiba libretto, but only one is tactile asset...It's my new toshiba libretto reinstall windows 7... Please help me... André

  • Tecra Z50-to-17 t constantly freezes during shutdown

    My new Toshiba Tecra Z50-to-17 t constantly crashes on shutdown. At first I thought that it could connect to the Cisco all lie, as it appeared in the event viewer several times.After I deleted it went well for a while, but now the problem occurred ag

  • How to read two files (one updates every second, the other is constant) simoltaneously

    Dear all, I'd appreciate if someone help me. I want to read two files, one is the temperature that updates every second, and the other is energy hysteresis that has specific lines and is constant. I had a program in the discussion forum to read a fil

  • Is it possible to set a password to a folder randomly in Windows 7?

    I would like to know if it is possible to add a protection password to a folder created in Windows 7. I realize that you can set up different user accounts or enter the settings on a network share, but it's not my situation. I usually let the friends

  • Page size

    Why are some of my site not opening not to size, they would all always open maximum size. Now IE is correct and many others agree, but some who used to be well now open minium. Is there something I could changed by mistake