With Preview.app permission issues

Hello

Given that I've updated for macOS 10.12 I can't change any photo on my desk with Preview.app.

When I do a print screen or drag a picture of Mail.app on my desk and start to edit, I get a notice in Preview.app that the original document is not editable and a duplicate has been created.

If I copy the same exact file in my documents folder I can modify it. But when I add running on the file on my desktop, I can change it as well. But why files rwx for me on my desktop but rw in the folder my documents is sufficient?

What is the problem with my desktop folder or files contained in it?

Files and folders are set to my username and the personal group.

Advertisement

Closing and opening preview or restart the computer may fix. Otherwise, close preview, open a Terminal window and type/paste:

RM - r ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.Preview

Tags: Mac OS & System Software

Similar Questions

  • How to scan a document multi-page with preview in macOS Sierra with Scanner and printer Dell network?

    Hello, I know that macOS Sierra had a big problem with PDF / scanning due to an update to the pdf engine. Here we have Dell printers / scanners Dell C3765dnf Color MFP. We usually scan with Preview app (import of the device). But with macOS Sierra, the scanner scans all pages but the first page is available after the scanning process. Maybe can someone help?

    Have you tried scanning with Capture of Image?

  • CC apps install not because of permission issues

    Windows 7 Home Premium on an HP Elitebook-tent to install apps for a trial subscription. Dreamweaver no problem but the fuse or Muse download and extract, but fail because of administrator permission issues (yes I am logged as an administrator). Help page has six different ways to try to solve the problem!

    ERROR: DF024: cannot move the file in "C:\Program Files (x 86) \Common {359F8007-6486-429C-A8C5-D67F6897C88C} \_49_b1a180df737ef 938a5580ffdcd494c15 ' to 'C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe bridge CC (64 Bit) \libmmd.dll' error 32 the process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process... Try setting the correct permissions for the specified file/folder or parent, so that the admin has the right to modify. (Seq 115)

    I give up to...

    Never approved and validated. No help from Adobe. Certainly not to use your product for web design classes. Open source is easier.

    Run as Administrator http://forums.adobe.com/thread/969395 to assign FULL permissions can help... said yet, but sometimes it is necessary for all Adobe programs (this is same as using an administrator account)

  • Oddity with previews - CC2015

    Since the update, I noticed a few weird things with previews.

    1. I have my updated guides to grey clear and points. Implement mode everything is fine. But in preview mode all the guides became lines, making it almost impossible to see in action. Yes, I can turn them off, but I've never had to do before. To more than 180% zoom levels, they turn their backs on the points.

    2. traits also seem to be strange. If I draw a box with a race of PT. 1, the horizontal and vertical will be different according to the survey. Sometimes, the horizontal line will look like it's a hairline, then vice versa. There is also a problem with the corners of the boxes (of calls) simply disappearing. I also checked align it on the pixel grid and that seems to have little or no effect. It also seems to be a problem if it is a print or web document.

    TIA

    Creephead,

    The issue should be resolved with the new patch/update, 19.1 (which gives you 2015.1 CC), which should solve known issues unresolved with 19.0.1, who had to deal with issues GPU and a few others...

    If she does not appear, disconnect and then reconnect the creative cloud application. After that, the 19.1 update must be visible in the creative application of Cloud.

    Otherwise, you can try to switch between GPU and CPU by pressing Ctrl / Cmd + E, or you try disabling GPU performance by clicking on the icon of the rocket in the bar of the App, or on the top of the menu bar, deselect the box Performance GPU. You may also uncheck performance GPU in your preferences.

  • Preview.app crashes at startup. Reinstall/Repair anyway?

    For about 8 months now, I've been unable to use Preview.app. It is on OS X 10.10.5.

    When I open it nothing with Preview (can be a file PDF or JPG or other) it crashes immediately. When I try to open the preview directly (not open anything with it) it opens, but if I then try file > open anything with her, same thing. From time to time, it will prompt me with:

    The last time that you opened an excerpt, it unexpectedly while the reopening of windows. You want to try to reopen his windows again?

    If you choose not to reopen Windows, you may need to open and position windows.

    I tried a few months to fix, but did not. I don't remember that I tried and do not seem to be able to find the message I thought I posted about this at the time. So I have a new go at it.

    Is it possible to repair or to reinstall or reset an excerpt?

    The newspaper info it has created in the Console after all at the time of the analysis are:

    04/12/16 9:52:46.328 realized [81092]: an untrapped exception was raised

    04/12/16 9:52:46.328 realized [81092]: *-[__NSPlaceholderSet initWithObjects:count:]: attempt to insert nil objects [0] object

    04/12/16 9:52:46.329 realized [81092]:)

    0 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e7f103c __exceptionPreprocess + 172

    1 libobjc. A.dylib 0x00007fff8716476e objc_exception_throw + 43

    2 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e6a6caf-[__NSPlaceholderSet initWithObjects:count:] + 399

    3 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e7231ff + [setWithObject sets:] + 47

    4 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e788d7-[AKAttributeController _updateStateOnSenderFromSelf:] + 503

    5 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e7793f-[AKAttributeController _updateStateOnSender:] + 135

    6 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e742c1-[AKAttributeController validateAttributeSender:] + 176

    7 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e79095-[AKActionController validateSender:] + 206

    8 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e38e47-[AKTextAttributesViewController validateUserInterfaceItems] + 116

    9 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106eb9af8-[AKToolbarViewController_Mac revalidateItems] + 501

    10 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e76677-[AKAttributeController _syncAttributesFromSelectedAnnotationsToUI] + 82

    11 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e74375-[AKAttributeController setModelControllerToObserveForSelections:] + 143

    12 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e47408-[AKController observeValueForKeyPath:ofObject:change:context:] + 887

    13 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa581c3 NSKeyValueNotifyObserver + 382

    14 0x00007fff8aa64e38 NSKeyValueDidChange + 463 Foundation

    15 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa1da4d-[NSObject (NSKeyValueObserverNotification) didChangeValueForKey:] + 118

    Preview Preview 16 0x0000000106bc24ea + 107754

    17 0x0000000106bbc3d7 + 82903 Preview Preview

    Preview Preview 18 0x0000000106bb33f9 + 46073

    19 AppKit 0x00007fff8ca08857-[NSWindowController _windowDidLoad] + 586

    20 AppKit 0x00007fff8c9f0b83-[NSWindowController window] + 110

    21 0x0000000106bb1416 + 37910 overview overview

    22 AppKit 0x00007fff8ca02bd2-[NSWindowController showWindow:] + 36

    Preview Preview 23 0x0000000106bb289a + 43162

    24 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa45ef1-[NSObject (NSThreadPerformAdditions) performSelector:onThread:withObject:waitUntilDone:modes:] + 954

    25 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa45ab9-[NSObject (NSThreadPerformAdditions) performSelectorOnMainThread:withObject:waitUntilDone:] + 131

    26 0x0000000106bb27c3 + 42947 Preview Preview

    Preview Preview 27 0x0000000106bb15c0 + 38336

    Preview Preview 28 0x0000000106ca607d + 1040509

    29 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85129323 _dispatch_call_block_and_release + 12

    30 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85124c13 _dispatch_client_callout + 8

    31 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85130cbf _dispatch_main_queue_callback_4CF + 861

    32 0x00007fff8e7443f9 __CFRUNLOOP_IS_SERVICING_THE_MAIN_DISPATCH_QUEUE__ + 9 CoreFoundation

    CoreFoundation 33 0x00007fff8e6ff68f __CFRunLoopRun + 2159

    CoreFoundation 34 0x00007fff8e6febd8 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 296

    35 HIToolbox 0x00007fff8344556f RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 235

    36 HIToolbox 0x00007fff834452ea ReceiveNextEventCommon + 431

    37 HIToolbox 0x00007fff8344512b _BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInModeWithFilter + 71

    AppKit 38 0x00007fff8c8cd8ab _DPSNextEvent + 978

    AppKit 39 0x00007fff8c8cce58-[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode: dequeue:] + 346

    AppKit 40 0x00007fff8c8c2af3-[NSApplication run] + 594

    AppKit 41 0x00007fff8c83f244 NSApplicationMain + 1832

    42 libdyld.dylib 0x00007fff8f75d5c9 start + 1

    43?                                 0000000000000001 0 x 0 x 0 + 1

    )

    "04/12/16 9:52:46.330 realized [81092]: * reason for termination due to an untrapped exception"NSInvalidArgumentException"app,: ' *-[__NSPlaceholderSet initWithObjects:count:]: attempt to insert nil objects [0] object"

    First throw call stack:

    (

    0 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e7f103c __exceptionPreprocess + 172

    1 libobjc. A.dylib 0x00007fff8716476e objc_exception_throw + 43

    2 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e6a6caf-[__NSPlaceholderSet initWithObjects:count:] + 399

    3 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8e7231ff + [setWithObject sets:] + 47

    4 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e788d7-[AKAttributeController _updateStateOnSenderFromSelf:] + 503

    5 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e7793f-[AKAttributeController _updateStateOnSender:] + 135

    6 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e742c1-[AKAttributeController validateAttributeSender:] + 176

    7 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e79095-[AKActionController validateSender:] + 206

    8 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e38e47-[AKTextAttributesViewController validateUserInterfaceItems] + 116

    9 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106eb9af8-[AKToolbarViewController_Mac revalidateItems] + 501

    10 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e76677-[AKAttributeController _syncAttributesFromSelectedAnnotationsToUI] + 82

    11 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e74375-[AKAttributeController setModelControllerToObserveForSelections:] + 143

    12 AnnotationKit 0x0000000106e47408-[AKController observeValueForKeyPath:ofObject:change:context:] + 887

    13 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa581c3 NSKeyValueNotifyObserver + 382

    14 0x00007fff8aa64e38 NSKeyValueDidChange + 463 Foundation

    15 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa1da4d-[NSObject (NSKeyValueObserverNotification) didChangeValueForKey:] + 118

    Preview Preview 16 0x0000000106bc24ea + 107754

    17 0x0000000106bbc3d7 + 82903 Preview Preview

    Preview Preview 18 0x0000000106bb33f9 + 46073

    19 AppKit 0x00007fff8ca08857-[NSWindowController _windowDidLoad] + 586

    20 AppKit 0x00007fff8c9f0b83-[NSWindowController window] + 110

    21 0x0000000106bb1416 + 37910 overview overview

    22 AppKit 0x00007fff8ca02bd2-[NSWindowController showWindow:] + 36

    Preview Preview 23 0x0000000106bb289a + 43162

    24 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa45ef1-[NSObject (NSThreadPerformAdditions) performSelector:onThread:withObject:waitUntilDone:modes:] + 954

    25 Foundation 0x00007fff8aa45ab9-[NSObject (NSThreadPerformAdditions) performSelectorOnMainThread:withObject:waitUntilDone:] + 131

    26 0x0000000106bb27c3 + 42947 Preview Preview

    Preview Preview 27 0x0000000106bb15c0 + 38336

    Preview Preview 28 0x0000000106ca607d + 1040509

    29 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85129323 _dispatch_call_block_and_release + 12

    30 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85124c13 _dispatch_client_callout + 8

    31 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff85130cbf _dispatch_main_queue_callback_4CF + 861

    32 0x00007fff8e7443f9 __CFRUNLOOP_IS_SERVICING_THE_MAIN_DISPATCH_QUEUE__ + 9 CoreFoundation

    CoreFoundation 33 0x00007fff8e6ff68f __CFRunLoopRun + 2159

    CoreFoundation 34 0x00007fff8e6febd8 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 296

    35 HIToolbox 0x00007fff8344556f RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 235

    36 HIToolbox 0x00007fff834452ea ReceiveNextEventCommon + 431

    37 HIToolbox 0x00007fff8344512b _BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInModeWithFilter + 71

    AppKit 38 0x00007fff8c8cd8ab _DPSNextEvent + 978

    AppKit 39 0x00007fff8c8cce58-[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode: dequeue:] + 346

    AppKit 40 0x00007fff8c8c2af3-[NSApplication run] + 594

    AppKit 41 0x00007fff8c83f244 NSApplicationMain + 1832

    42 libdyld.dylib 0x00007fff8f75d5c9 start + 1

    43?                                 0000000000000001 0 x 0 x 0 + 1

    )

    04/12/16 9:52:49.189 am com.apple.xpc.launchd [1]: (com.apple.Preview.233764 [81092]) Service was released due to the signal: Abort trap: 6

    04/12/16 9:52:49.582'm ReportCrash [82907]: report of incidents recorded for the Preview version [81092] 8.0 (859.21) to/Users/jonathan/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/Preview_2016-04-12-095249_J-MBP. Crash

    Thank you

    Jonathan

    This happens to another user?

    Create a new user and see if the problem still exists to ensure that this is not a problem with your username.

    Otherwise, to reinstall an application that comes with os x, you must reinstall the operating system completely.

    Restart the computer and hold down the command + R immediately, then reinstall Yosemite.

    How to reinstall OS X on your Mac - Apple Support

  • Preview app - Instant Alpha tool does not appear in the toolbar of the Markup

    Mac OS X 10.11.4 Preview app

    I am trying to remove a background from a PDF file. I used to be able to do it with instant Alpha Preview tool. I checked under Preview Help and it still says to do that using the instant Alpha tool, that she should appear when you select show a markup toolbar. But he's not here. All that appears is a rectangular selection tool. The instant Alpha tool are removed from the latest version of preview in Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.4?

    alp1116 wrote:

    I am trying to remove a background from a PDF file.

    It's still there.

    Shift command shows the tools

    However, you do not need to edit a PDF in this way with preview.


    You can try editing PDF like PDFpen software or convert the PDF file

  • "this identifier apple is still used with the app store - 3times deducted from my credit card.

    I am trying to connect to the iStore, but I receive the following message: "" this identifier apple is still used with the app store.

    I following the registration process, but nothing happened just 3times deducted from my credit card...

    I filled the fields are all required and still does not work, just my credit card losing ~ $7 Dollar (2.2 dollar every time with the following msg: ITUNES ITUNES.COM/BILL.) COM READ) I don't want to spend more money for a simple registration... Thanks for help.

    They are fresh from holding temporary store, your card issuer should remove in a few days or more: on the payment card's authorization in the iTunes Store - Apple Support

    A card having a chance to be accepted it must be registered with the same name and address (including the format and spacing etc) that you have on your iTunes account and have been issued by a bank in the country where you are (and, therefore, the country that sits on your iTunes account). If it is you can check with the card issuer to see if it is them who are in decline. Or do you have another card you could try?

    Or to create a new account without giving details of the payment: create an iTunes Store account, App Store and iBooks Store without credit card or other method of payment - Apple Support

  • assign the shortcut to tiles created with Tiler app

    Hi, is it possible to assign shortcuts for the tiles created with Tiler app?

    It looks great my screen with pictures and letters, however when I opened the tiles he open the Tiler app, is possible to change this shortcut and open apps (IE. E-mail) or THE pages instead?

    Hello fcp1987,

    You cannot change the existing tiles. If you want to add tiles to your start screen for Web pages or e-mail online, there is a very easy way to do it.

    Open the version of Internet Explorer 10 splash screen. Visit the Web page that you want to access from a tile. In the lower right hand corner of the screen is an icon of a bug, select it. Select PIN to start, and then select Pin to Start again (it will show you what looks like the tile).

    If this resolves your issue, remember to mark this reply as an answer.

  • I keep getting permission issues at the launch of LR on Mac.

    I'm unable to luanch LR on my my MacBook Air (Creative could account) because he says there are permission issues. I looked at permission and everything seems OK for me.

    Hi Bkeffeler,

    Please visit the following link: update on CC (for PS, LR and bridge) online and met a permissions problem with LR on three dossiers?

    Kind regards

    Tanuj

  • New to CC, impossible to save preferences due to permission issues. What should do?

    CC can also create CC library. Maybe even reason...

    Hi Michael

    Can you tell us what operating system you are using?  I think the permission issues are mainly with OSX systems, but it is covered in this troubleshooting guide

    http://blogs.Adobe.com/Crawlspace/2012/07/Photoshop-basic-troubleshooting-steps-to-fix-MOS t - issues.html #Permissions

  • Edict of CC of LR RAW for PS not around trigger-permission issues

    I have permission issues. iMac, El captain. LR of CC and PS, to date. The iMac is part of a large desk, so he managed rights.

    I can't edit a raw of LR to PS I can open a raw directly in PS, camera raw is not the issue, they all have two match. I ran the mac in safe mode, and the edit function works.

    So somewhere the authorization are disabled.

    So, nobody knows What files and folders is written to when you run the RAW file import of ambient light for Photoshop layer . So I can have my people IT change the permissions

    Thanks in advance!

    Start Finder and highlight the application with your version or CC 2015 - see image.

    Press Cmd + i to bing to the top of the dialog box for information and to ensure the admin and user have read & write permissions.

  • Can a preview app be downloaded on iTunes Connect to be able to use the test flight?

    My limited test says 'no', because the preview apps must be signed with the Developer profile, and iTunes Connect requires applications to be signed with the profile of production and distribution .

    The follow-up question is how to get an app to preview in the hands of testers and content reviewers. Send the .ipa duly signed and implemented for load to their device via iTunes?

    It is certainly possible, guidelines seem to indicate that it is Apple ok (note: given that the application of the "Preview" string in it I guess you couldn't present a glimpse at the real store app).

    An overview of app can be signed with a certificate of distribution for TestFlight distribution. There is nothing wrong with that; However, I do not push notifications work for these versions.

  • Preview App not displaying not updated content, even after 30 seconds and closing/repoening

    I created and installed a preview app and reading some of the other comments here on this topic. I added .article files to my collection of high level and published. No bubble update appears after closing and opening the app within minutes. Do I need to click on the preview icon in the upper right corner of the Web portal whenever I want to get a preview of the changes on the device? I also tried, with no update was successful. If I delete the app and reinstall, my content to date is then displayed.

    Thank you!

    Jeff

    I had success lately overview my content updated in the application preview. What I did differently, was 'Unpublish' the content I was updating to be read in the preview application until I click the button Preview in the user interface.

  • ORA-27369: jobs of type EXECUTABLE failed with exit code: permission denied

    Dear experts,

    I created a simple external job to run the export job (expdp) to be run from PL/SQL. When I create a job as user SYS, labor runs well, but the same fails when I run it as a user of the application. I'm sure I'm missing a few privileges. I go through internet, MOS for a solution, but could not find a (my bad!).

    Grateful if you could point me the right direction.

    Here is the work:
    BEGIN
    dbms_scheduler.create_job(
    job_name => 'mytestjob',
    job_type => 'executable',
    job_action => '/u01/myexpdp.sh',
    enabled => TRUE,
    auto_drop         =>   FALSE);
    END;
    /
    
    
    exec dbms_scheduler.run_job('mytestjob');
    performance of the work as a user 'TEST '.
    SQL> show user
    USER is "TEST"
    SQL>
    
    SQL> exec dbms_scheduler.run_job('mytestjob');
    BEGIN dbms_scheduler.run_job('mytestjob'); END;
    
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-27369: job of type EXECUTABLE failed with exit code: Permission denied
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_ISCHED", line 185
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_SCHEDULER", line 486
    ORA-06512: at line 1
    
    
    SQL>
    permissions of files
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 oracle oinstall 1539 Mar 21 17:58 /u01/myexpdp.sh
    expdp script
    cat /u01/myexpdp.sh
    
    #!/bin/bash
    source /home/oracle/.bash_profile
    
    ORACLE_SID=TESTDB
    
    /u01/app/oracle/product/11.2.0.1/db1/bin/expdp parfile=/u01/expoptions.txt
    expdp settings file
    cat u01/expoptions.txt
    userid=scott/tiger
    directory=DATA_PUMP_DIR
    dumpfile=test.dmp
    tables=emp
    Published by: Prem Kumar on March 21, 2013 04:14

    Have you defined a credential for your host with dbms_scheduler.create_credential connection and specified the credentials with the work?
    --
    John Watson
    Oracle Certified Master s/n
    http://skillbuilders.com

  • Preview.app stuck on the first page of the PDF in single page mode

    I regularly Preview.app view PDF files and want to use the "Single Page" function to display an entire page at one time. I have 'Single Page' display set as the default behavior.

    Lately when I open a PDF file, they properly open the first page, but I am unable to navigate to another page via the drop-down page, touch up/down arrow. If the PDF file has a table of contents, I am able to go beyond the first page through it and then proceed to navigate normally. If it is not a table of contents, the only solution is to continuous scrolling mode and continue to navigate beyond the first page.

    It's very annoying! Unfortunately, I can't remember where this started happening. It could be when I upgraded to MacOS Sierra, but I can't confirm.

    Everyone else see this behavior?

    Hold down the Option/ALT key, then use the cursor to the TOP or to the BOTTOM of the key.

Maybe you are looking for